Revlon ColorStay Gel Envy Showtime – Endurance Test!

Revlon Showtime!

Revlon Showtime!

Of the Revlon Colorstay Gel Envy line that is currently available, only one shade (other than Queen of Hearts) caught my eye, and it was the blueish, purpleish flaky glitter containing Showtime! I actually got the top coat intended to use with this line as it was all on sale, and I really wanted to see how it held up, being a long time fan of Revlon nail products.

Revlon Showtime, Gel Envy Top Coat

Revlon Showtime, Gel Envy Top Coat

Here are some swatches in various lighting. I did use 2 coats of the top coat as I found the flaky glitter did leave just the slightest bit of texture, which although interesting, wasn’t what I was going for this time around. I’ve heard mixed info about this product requiring a bit of UV to completely set (just from daylight, not from a lamp.) I didn’t go out of my way to bake them in sunlight, just a few brief minutes while taking pictures, and it seemed to set up well. Swatches!

Revlon Showtime Swatch, Indoors

Revlon Showtime Swatch, Indoors

Revlon Showtime Swatch, Indoors

Revlon Showtime Swatch, Indoors

Revlon Showtime Swatch, Sunlight

Revlon Showtime Swatch, Sunlight

And on to the wear test! I am not exactly easy on my hands, and the photos taken from this week would include time working in a shipping warehouse packing orders, and in an office shuffling a thousand papers. This first picture is at the end of day 3.

revlon_showtime_swatch_3

Nothing but minor tip wear. Wow. This is already a solid passing grade to me. Very impressed.  Now this week was pretty busy, and I didn’t manage to remember to take photos again until I was ready to take it off, after a full week. Here is what it looks like after an entire 7 days wear!

revlon_showtime_swatch_4

So more pronounced tip wear and minor chipping, and one pronounced chip at the top of the middle finger, which is an unusual place for me to chip so I guess it got caught on something. The thumb nail doesn’t even have ANY visible tip wear! Pretty amazing 🙂

Final verdict – if this line has a shade you really like, get it. Get the top coat too. I waited for a great sale to grab mine, but with performance like this, I’d understand if ya didn’t! Will get more to add to the collection of I find another interesting shade. I should also do a wear test for Queen of Hearts now that I have the top coat!

Enjoy your weekend! Happy daylight savings!

Leave a Reply

