Studded Black Leather NOTD Nail Dotter Experiments!

L'Oreal She's So Matte, Sally Hansen Celeb City

L’Oreal She’s So Matte, Sally Hansen Celeb City

Something different for today’s NOTD! I used L’Oreal She’s So Matte and Sally Hansen Celeb City for this look. L’Oreal She’s So Matte is a flat black polish that is pretty opaque in one coat but I used two for this NOTD. I really like the effect, but unfortunately it chips very quickly (like most matte polishes) which might have something to do with not being able to use a topcoat, so I don’t use it very often. I’m not able to find this on their website anymore, so it was probably a limited edition. Sally Hansen Celeb City is a shimmery sparkly silver that has been around for years and is still in production.

First two coats of L’Oreal She’s So Matte, which dried very quickly as mattes generally do. I then used the smaller side of my new nail dotter to add metallic “studs” all around the edges with Sally Hansen Celeb City. With the matte black, it sort of had a look of studded black leather!

L'Oreal She's So Matte Base, Sally Hansen Celeb City Dots

L’Oreal She’s So Matte Base, Sally Hansen Celeb City Dots

L'Oreal She's So Matte Base, Sally Hansen Celeb City Dots

L’Oreal She’s So Matte Base, Sally Hansen Celeb City Dots

I enjoyed the interesting leathery look for a while, and decided I wanted to see what it looked like shiny before it started to chip. I added a quick coat of NYC Grand Central Station clear coat (which is fantastic by the way). Now I can’t decide if I like it better shiny or matte!

L'Oreal She's So Matte Base, Sally Hansen Celeb City Dots, NYC Topcoat

L’Oreal She’s So Matte Base, Sally Hansen Celeb City Dots, NYC Topcoat

And because why not, I did the inverse on the other hand. It was harder to paint and photograph with the “wrong” hand but I thought it was still interesting enough to share!

L'Oreal She's So Matte Dots, Sally Hansen Celeb City Base

L’Oreal She’s So Matte Dots, Sally Hansen Celeb City Base

 

This was a fun and easy nail project. 🙂 Like any the best?

Have a good week!

Leave a Reply

