Bath & Body Works Sunset By The Pool Fragrance Line Review!

Bath & Body Works Sunset by the Pool

Bath & Body Works Sunset by the Pool

It’s exceptionally rare that I am near a Bath & Body Works at all, let alone in one when they are having a crazy good sale on their new stuff! They happened to have their entire new summer line on for $5 apiece, so I made an exception (I’m trying to be on a body care buying break) and picked some up. Considering a full set of the large sizes of the fine fragrance mist (236ml/8oz), shower gel (295ml/10oz) and body lotion (236ml/8oz) would be $15 combined, it was well worth it. From their website, regular prices in Canada are $14 for the fine fragrance mist, $12.50 for the shower gel and $12.50 for the body lotion at the time of this post.

The new summer line (that I could find here) includes Cool Coconut Surf, Hello Sunshine, Peace, Love & Daisies, and Sweet Summer Kiss. I found it hard to get a good sniff of any of them with so so many nice smelling products interfering. I gave up on trying to figure out if I liked them by smell and looked for what the fragrance’s notes were as a jumping off point. I almost went with Hello Sunshine, when I picked up a bottle of Sunset by the Pool and read the notes: White Peach, Exotic Passionfruit and Sun-Warmed Woods. A quick perfunctory sniff assured me it smelled okay. As I have been looking for a more than single note peach based scent for a long time, I decided to grab this one.

When I got home, I decided to look up the notes. Their website shows two different sets of notes! The “Key Fragrance Notes” are still listed as a sun-ripe blend of white peach, exotic passionfruit & sun-warmed woods. But then there was a different breakdown when it came to the top, middle and basenotes, as follows:

  • Top Notes: Fuzzy Apricot, Sparkling Bergamot, Juicy Grapefruit
Top Notes of Sunset by the Pool

Top Notes of Sunset by the Pool

 

  • Middle Notes: Lily Of The Valley, Mirabel Plum, Blood Orange, Apple Blossom
Middle Notes of Sunset by the Pool

Middle Notes of Sunset by the Pool

 

  • Base Notes: Sun Warmed Woods, Madagascar Vanilla
Base Notes of Sunset by the Pool

Base Notes of Sunset by the Pool

 

What’s not listed here:

WHERE'S MY PEACHES?!

WHERE’S MY PEACHES?!

As you can see, no peach! Although I suppose apricot is close. Now to me, at first spray this fragrance hits me with pineapple! Not even in the notes! Along with the pineapple is a huge, juicy amount of blood orange. I love blood orange, and all citrus really, so I’m okay with this part too. The super juicy part does last for a good while, longer than I expected. Once it settles, it mellows out to a barely perceptible vanilla wood smell. You would have to really be looking for the vanilla to find it here. It works as a nice smooth base for the rest of the notes. What I mostly get out of this for the majority of the fragrance is a chewy, possibly dried, plummy apricot. This is sweet, but it is more the sweetness of fresh, ripened fruit rather than sugar. Delicious.

Label shows a peach and a hibiscus – there’s no peach nor hibiscus in this. It’s still delicious though!

Sunset by the Pool Label

Sunset by the Pool Label

The fragrance doesn’t last very long, maybe a couple of hours to my own nose, although I’m sure others would still be able to smell it faintly. As it’s a body spray, and not a strong scent to begin with, I wasn’t really expecting huge lasting power. It’s good enough for what it is!

As for the lotion, it’s a decent formula. It absorbs well and smells true to the fragrance, although it does reach the smooth dry down sooner than the spray. I generally prefer my lotions to be more emollient (I don’t know why my skin just soaks them up, it’s not that dry) but it’s good enough for light moisture. The formula boasts shea butter, vitamin E and aloe according to the label. Click for larger pictures.

Sunset by the Pool Lotion Label

Sunset by the Pool Lotion Label

The shower gel is as juicy as the fragrance and also performs well. Most shower gels I can’t use for more than a couple days in a row without my skin starting to hate it but this one seems fine so far! The shower gel also contains shea butter, vitamin E and aloe. The label below.

Sunset by the Pool Shower Gel Label

Sunset by the Pool Shower Gel Label

Overall I really like this, especially at the price I found it! I also like to layer it with another summer fragrance I have, which will also be reviewed at a later time. If you’re looking for a juicy, apricoty summer treat, give this a try. If you are looking for something truly peach, keep looking (I will). This will hold the place until I find something really peachy!

Have a great weekend, maybe even by the pool!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Polly Fragrant
    Jul 19, 2014 @ 16:48:59

    I just hate going to Bath and Body Works. The smell is absolutely overwhelming for me.

    Like

    Reply

    • katezilla
      Jul 19, 2014 @ 17:43:35

      That was my problem, everything was confused. I couldn’t tell one from another. I trusted what I knew I liked and did a lot better reading notes instead of sniffing, and got in and out of there fast!

      Like

      Reply

  2. trendyteacher13
    Jul 20, 2014 @ 10:24:32

    That was a really great sale you found! I’m jealous!!! I haven’t smelled this new line yet… I’ll have to soon! Great post!

    Like

    Reply

  3. instagram
    May 21, 2015 @ 05:01:02

    I do not even know how I ended up here, but
    I thought this post was great. I don’t know who you are but
    certainly you’re going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

