Rouge Dior Nude Lip Blush in 459 Charnelle Swatch & Review!

Dior Charnelle

Dior Charnelle

Good morning! As you might remember, I recently received a lovely gift from my friend over at Polly Fragrant which included a Dior 5 pan eye shadow from their Cherie Bow Edition called Rose Charmeuse (reviewed here with 3 experiment looks) and this pretty little nude lipstick balm called Charnelle.

Dior Charnelle, Dior Rose Charmeuse

Dior Charnelle, Dior Rose Charmeuse

The packaging is sturdy, attractive and classy. The tube is an elegant navy with silver trim with a modern line pattern cut in. The top of the lid has silver “CD” initials underneath a layer of transparent navy plastic. Fancy!

Dior Charnelle Cap

Dior Charnelle Cap

Dior markets this luxury lipstick line as a “Nude Lip Blush” balm. The finish is sheer, smooth and hydrating. I would describe it to be something between a lip butter and a gloss. It definitely doesn’t set like a lipstick would, it stays slick like a balm or gloss, but it doesn’t feel like it’s going to slide around everywhere like the Givenchy I reviewed recently. This shade looks browner in the tube than it does on my lips. On my lips it’s more of a super subtle, sheer pinkish nude. A lovely “my lips but better” shade. By far my best nude shade. Perfect for a hydrating daytime subtle lip look. Great for interviews/workplace, would also be perfect with a strong smoky eye. Shiny, no shimmer. Swatches below!

Dior Charnelle Swatch

Dior Charnelle Swatch

Dior Charnelle on lips

Dior Charnelle on lips

 

Worth mentioning, this lippie does have a fragrance and taste. It’s something like a sweetened powdery rose. It’s the kind of thing you would immediately associate with a higher end lipstick. I don’t mind it, in fact I actually like it, but if you are very sensitive to fragrance it’s worth keeping in mind.

I will enjoy using this lipstick til it’s gone but I can’t see myself ever shelling out that much for a lipstick!

Post script! Usually my French is pretty good (side effect of being Canadian) but I didn’t know what “Charnelle” meant… and apparently it’s “Carnal”. Suddenly this innocent little lipstick balm isn’t so chaste!

Dior Charnelle

Dior Charnelle

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. brooksmakeup
    Jul 09, 2014 @ 03:31:49

    Ahh everything’s so pretty, just wish I could justify the hefty price tag!

    Abi x
    http://www.brooksmakeup.wordpress.com

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

