Dior Cherie Bow Edition Rose Charmeuse Eyeshadow!

Dior Rose Charmeuse & Charnelle

Dior Rose Charmeuse & Charnelle

I received these Dior beauties from the thoughtful and generous Polly Fragrant, whose name you might recognize from my recent reblog of her recent post about her adventurous foray into the cosmetics world. A few months ago, my high end makeup collection consisted of gift with purchases (from other peoples purchases). Although I did enjoy using them,  I could never really rationalize the cost, considering how industriously I try seek out the best of the drugstore low end products, often with some success. But now, between Polly’s lovely gift, and the sephora gift card won from Lastcontrast‘s giveaway in May (used on a long wanted Urban Decay palette) I have what feels like a luxurious amount of fancy pretty things to play with! I never really thought I’d have anything like these! The sephora order from that prize be seen here, if you’re curious.

Dior Rose Charmeuse

Dior Rose Charmeuse

Included in Polly Fragrant’s mailing was a 5 pan Dior eye shadow palette from their Cherie Bow collection, named Rose Charmeuse 854, and a Rouge Dior Nude lipstick in Charnelle 459. Today’s post will be just the eye shadow as it is fairly lengthy, and the lipstick will be presented with swatches on separate post that can now be found here.

Dior Rose Charmeuse Back

Dior Rose Charmeuse Back

Dior Couture Colour Eyeshadow Palette in Rose Charmeuse is a 5 pan palette with a range of shades I’ve never seen together in a palette before! Swatched on my arm below, from top to bottom are:

-A peachy shade, a matte base which is then full of glitter (thankfully not much sticks to the final result, so you don’t end up glittery, hard to see this on my arm.)

-A satiny, shimmery palest pink ivory tone, almost an ivory with a pale pink duo-chrome flash effect. Blends out as sheerly as you like, so you don’t look frosty.

-A satiny, shimmery pale ballerina pink with matching micro shimmer inside that give it a pretty luminosity.

-A smooth, intensely bright pink with a paler pink flash, leans warm.

-A deep, matte, pigmented, perfect charcoal black that actually reminds me of artist’s charcoal. Soft, little to no fallout, I wish I had something like this back in my dimly lit bartending days when I always wore black eyeshadow (my deep set eyes could pull it off without looking gothy.)

Dior Rose Charmeuse Swatched

Dior Rose Charmeuse Swatched

As this palette has not individually named the shades, for the experimental eye looks I’ve tried below I will be listing them as 1 through 5 as shown below! This is the same order they have been described above, as well.

Dior Rose Charmeuse, Numbered

Dior Rose Charmeuse, Numbered

With a shade selection this varied, a multitude of looks can be achieved! I wanted to start off with three different looks to get a feel for how this product performs. I tried out a feminine smoky look, a more wearable simple every day look (although this might be still too much for some), and a deep, dark dramatic look. Here we go!

Look#1, a pretty pink and grey smoky eye:

I applied a light base of 1, used 2 on my brow bone and inner corner, used 3 all over my lid, and 5 lightly buffed through my crease, as well as applied to darken the outer V corner. Numbers 3 and 5 were applied and blended on my lower lash line.

Dior Rose Charmeuse

Dior Rose Charmeuse

 

Look #2 a pale grey basic daytime smoky eye:

I applied another light base of 1, then placed 2 all over my lid. I added 3 sheerly, on my brow bone and a bit in the inner corner. I then layered a light touch of 5 over my lid base of 1, blending to make it grey. Added a bit more 5 in the crease to darken, and lined under eye with it as well.

Dior Rose Charmeuse

Dior Rose Charmeuse

 

Look #3, a dark and dramatic eye:

Added a small amount of 1 in the crease to make future blending easier. I blended together 2 and 3 for light application to highlight the brow bone. I liberally applied 5 to my lid (although it didn’t take much) and blended out any harsh lines heading into the crease area, to leave a nice blank area to add a bright pop of 4 blended through the crease. After more blending, I added a mixture of 4 and 5 to line my lower lash line.

Dior Rose Charmeuse

Dior Rose Charmeuse

 

Each shadow was pigmented and mercifully blendable, which is hard to come by in shadows as pigmented as 4 and 5. I haven’t yet picked a favourite! But then of course I haven’t yet tried all my options! This was so much fun to play with. Many thanks again to Polly Fragrant.

Rouge Dior Nude Charnelle lipstick post coming soon!

Enjoy your weekend!

Leave a Reply

