Revlon Cherries in the Snow Swatch & Review!

Revlon_Cherries_In_The_Snow_rosesHi! This past weekend I assisted catering a function to help out a family member. One of the perks of this type of work is that I get to go home with some sort of goodies when it’s all over, and in this case I got to take home these gorgeous roses! It’s not often I have flowers or even much plant life in my home as I’m always worried the kitty will nibble them but she’s ignored these ones so far. They still look great actually even after 5 days, they are on my desk just starting to open! Funny how the vase dwarfs the lipstick in that header photo!

I was especially glad to have got to take these home as I spent the whole event looking at them, thinking the colour reminded me of something. A very particular lipstick, and old favourite, and I just had to know if I was imagining it, or if I was in fact thinking of the right thing. Take a look for yourself!

Revlon Cherries in the Snow, Roses

Revlon Cherries in the Snow, Roses

Revlon_Cherries_In_The_Snow_Closeuprose

Pretty spot on right? Revlon Cherries in the Snow Super Lustrous Creme Lipstick has been around at least since the 50’s, from what I can find, which tells you something about it’s popularity and lasting power as an iconic lip shade. The formula is even and smooth, and it lasts on my lips reasonably well providing I don’t eat anything. The shade brightens up my pale skin making everything looks more vibrant, but I can see this looking equally as striking on a darker skin tone as well. Cherries in the Snow is a clearly blue/cool based raspberry pink-red with no hint of shimmer. You can dab on a bit for a fuchsia stain, or apply full on for a look with the impact of a red but the flattering femininity of a pink! I’m often too scared to wear a full on red lipstick (although I can recommend several red lip butters also from Revlon here for a softer look) but this one seems more manageable. It somehow makes my eyes look bluer, and my skin look clearer. I must have a few dozen lipsticks but this is by far my favourite. Maybe not the most wearable, definitely not an every day thing, but still a clear favourite. No wonder it’s persisted since the 50’s! I’d imagine it would have had a resurgence of popularity in the 80’s as well. I hope they never discontinue this “vintage” shade!

Here are some swatches in sun and with flash.

Revlon Cherries in the Snow Swatch in Sun

Revlon Cherries in the Snow Swatch in Sun

Revlon Cherries in the Snow swatch with flash

Revlon Cherries in the Snow swatch with flash

It’s worth noting that this lip shade isn’t actually available in Canada. I had to order mine from what I though was a US eBay vendor, which then in turn shipped from Germany! I’m not sure why, but I don’t mind, the product was perfect. Glad I ordered 2 with all that trouble. I did try sending Revlon a letter to inquire as to why we don’t have it in Canada, and they sent me a form letter about how products get discontinued (which it isn’t, it’s been in constant production in the US, so I guess no one really read my question.)

Revlon Cherries in the Snow on lips NC20/25

Revlon Cherries in the Snow on lips NC20/25

Also worth noting is that the nail shade incarnation of Revlon Cherries in the Snow IS available in Canada. I’ve seen it, although not recently, and if I see it again I will snap it up as the colour does match the lip shade perfectly. I hope they didn’t discontinue that!

Incidentally, I couldn’t find out the name of the shade of the roses themselves. I was told it’s usually on the label that come with them, but we looked, and nothing. If anyone knows, please share as I would love to know!

I want to round this post out with a couple of old ads for this same lipstick!

Revlon Cherries in the Snow vintage ad

Revlon Cherries in the Snow vintage ad

Revlon Cherries in the Snow vintage ad

Revlon Cherries in the Snow vintage ad

Enjoy the rest of your week!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lastcontrast
    Jun 19, 2014 @ 05:02:39

    The matching nail polish is gorgeous as well!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Phaedra
    Jul 16, 2014 @ 08:38:23

    Love this one! This was the first lipstick I ever bought!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

