Nicole by OPI Sky’s the Limit NOTD Swatch and Review!

Nicole Sky's The Limit

Nicole Sky’s The Limit

I love blue polishes. Today’s NOTD is a crisp, refreshing and cheerful medium blue with micro silver and blue glitter. I was concerned that tiny glitter might translate to something frosty or pearlized on the nail, but to my relief it didn’t. From far away, the result looked almost like a slightly glowy metallic effect, and close up the glitter was thankfully still evident enough to not look like a frost.

The formula was smooth, and seemed to dry fast enough. The only issue was that it was fairly sheer. The swatches here are at least three coats and in some pictures it’s four. I like that the end result had a luminescent sheen from all the coats, and the cool shimmery blue did look nice against my skin tone. Some swatches in different lights.

Nicole Sky's The Limit

Nicole Sky’s The Limit

Nicole Sky's The Limit

Nicole Sky’s The Limit

Nicole Sky's The Limit

Nicole Sky’s The Limit

This is a nice blue, but the need for four coats for opacity is a bit more high maintenance than my liking. It does, however, seem to dry quickly for four coats. I’d still recommend a speed dry fluid coat or spray just to be sure, if you have one. I don’t think I will reach for this quite as often as some of my other blues. What I do think this polish will excel at would be for layering over other polishes for a flash of blue, and not necessarily over a blue of similar shade, although that would certainly work. I just tried this one on a bit of paper over a lavender, a dark purple, a taupe and even over a very deep forest green and the results were pretty and interesting, perhaps unique enough for a future NOTD.

Nicole Sky's The Limit

Nicole Sky’s The Limit

A shot from further away (and then cropped in) with no flash to highlight the metallic look.

Enjoy your day!

Leave a Reply

