L’Oreal Rough Around the Edges NOTD Swatch & Review!

L'Oreal Rough Around the Edges

L’Oreal Rough Around the Edges

As promised on my related post with L’Oreal Too Dimensional, here’s the swatches for it’s black counterpart, Rough Around the Edges 139. These polishes are of L’Oreal’s Gold Dust line of textured polishes. They have a slightly gritty, super fine sandpaper feel to them which also forces them to look matte. And I LOVE them, far more than I thought I would.

L’Oreal Rough Around the Edges is a billion silver micro glitter in a black base. It goes on opaque in 2 coats but I used 3 for these swatch photos. The effect makes me think of what might happen if you dipped freshly painted still wet black nails into super finely ground up diamonds. From a far distance, nails look to be a shiny very dark grey, closer you can see the glitter, and in the sun it’s stunning. The photos do not do it justice. It is a really different, modern, edgy look.

The first couple of pictures I took while it was still a bit wet.

L'Oreal Rough Around the Edges

L’Oreal Rough Around the Edges

Loreal_rough_around_the_edges_139_swatch+wet1

 

And a few when completely dry, looking more rough and matte.

L'Oreal Rough Around the Edges

L’Oreal Rough Around the Edges

Loreal_rough_around_the_edges_139_swatch_bright

I eventually caved and put a topcoat on my ring finger as shown below, and I still liked it just as much!

L'Oreal Rough Around the Edges with topcoat on ring finger

L’Oreal Rough Around the Edges with topcoat on ring finger

When you wash your hands the greyish cast turns back to black for a while, the little gritty bumps hold that much moisture. I thought it was worth mentioning. I only have the 2 rough texture polishes, this and the L’Oreal Too Dimensional so these are pretty unique and original to me, although the textured nails polishes have been around for a while. Rough Around the Edges appears to be a pretty good dupe for Zoya Dahlia and OPI A-nise Treat which have both been around longer, but you can probably find the L’Oreal for cheaper if this is a look you’re interested in! I’m really glad I found this (by accident even) as it’s my new favourite!

L'Oreal Rough Around the Edges

L’Oreal Rough Around the Edges

Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

