Revlon Popular (aka Starry Pink) A Safe and Meh Manicure

Revlon Popular

Revlon Popular

I needed a safe, cute, subtle manicure for a baby shower for a new baby girl. Pale, neutral, feminine nail colours are not usually my favourite but I thought I’d give it a go. I picked Revlon Popular (also known as Starry Pink in a previous limited edition incarnation) as it was a pale, baby soft ballerina pink with a sprinkling of sliver glitter in various sizes. The opacity of the polish make these look white-ish in the final result. Seeing as a lot of people seem to like this, I figured it would work out fairly well. It seemed girly baby shower-ish to me.

Like most pale nail polishes, this one gave me trouble. I couldn’t seem to get it even. It was streaky, patchy, and stubbornly difficult. Part of the blame could be the brush. It was that old style round, thin type which I am not particularly adept at using. I prefer the flatter, wider one for my nails.  Another portion of the blame can easily be placed on my complete and utter lack of skill. The remainder of the suspicion can be placed squarely on this unusual half cream half sheer full of glitter formula. I think it took about 4 coats to look like this.

Revlon Popular Swatch

Revlon Popular Swatch

This look is really not for me. The pink shade doesn’t clash with my skin tone which I appreciate but overall it’s too pale for my tastes. The silver glitter looks white in the end result, which would be fine if it weren’t for the tiny bits of silver peeking out making it look like black specks if you are (or aren’t) looking closely. This formula would have been better if it were actually white glitter, or if the silver still looked silver. Bothered by the silver not-silver glitter specs, I defiantly put a coat of the appropriately named Revlon Sparkle in hopes of improvement. Revlon Sparkle has the same tiny silver glitter and larger hexagon glitter as Popular. I liked it a whole lot more with the sparkle top coat.

Revlon Popular, Revlon Sparkle

Revlon Popular, Revlon Sparkle

Revlon Popular, Revlon Sparkle

Revlon Popular, Revlon Sparkle

Revlon Popular, Revlon Sparkle Top Coat

Revlon Popular, Revlon Sparkle Top Coat

Overall, this one just isn’t for me. Something nice – the glitter was plentiful and spread around easily! I think I will try this one again as a simple, single sheer coat to see how that looks, or maybe over another colour, not sure what though. Happy to take suggestions. Maybe I’d like it better on toes.

Edit: Well, the mother to be liked it, that’s something! This did look a lot better in daylight.

Leave a Reply

