Nicole for OPI Goodie Bag for Charity Find!

Nicole for OPI Goodie Bag SDM

Nicole for OPI Goodie Bag SDM

Occasionally as a treat after a particular good – or particularly awful – interview, I will allow myself a tiny beauty purchase. I usually have a $5 (or often less) rule, and I have been pretty lucky with my finds. I haven’t even got through swatching out the $1.44 Maybelline quads I happened upon not too long ago, only managed to try out the Emerald Smokes one so far! Will get on that soon.

Today, however, I broke my $5 rule, and I think it was well worth while! I visited the Richmond Center Shopper’s Drug Mart expecting to grab an Essence $1.99 polish or lippie and came across this display for “Goodie Bags”. They were $10 apiece and contained a wide variety of random makeup, mostly polishes but there were a few eye shadows, fancy stockings/tights, Sally Hansen nail stickers, eye liners, and most bags had some other high end beauty samples or fragrance samples in them as well. The sales woman came over to tell me about them, and I soon attracted a crowd of other curious women by rummaging through and asking questions.

SDM $10 Goodie Bags for charity

SDM $10 Goodie Bags for charity

$10 gets you a Goodie Bag, (all proceeds to the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation), 7 tickets into a raffle for an amount I forget, I think it was $1000(?) and a ticket to their “Makeover Event” on May 3rd. The ticket itself includes a $5 coupon you may use on any cosmetic, fragrance or jewelry purchase over $5 on May 3rd, which I think is a nice touch. You also had the option to book a free consultation with their makeover beauty experts.

There was another large bin full behind this one!

There was another large bin full behind this one!

While milling about, rummaging through the bags and making generally happy female shopping sounds (Oooh! Pretty! What a nice idea!) with the women around me, I overhead one say, “oh I couldn’t wear any of these nail colours!”, to the bag in her hand. As my predilection for weird, dark, or unusual shades is well documented, I traded her the bag she found for the one holding pink and purple polishes that I had found. And I am certain that I traded up! My $10 goodie bag included 4 Nicole for OPI nail shades. Each one of these polishes would normally retail for $9.99 on it’s own!

Nicole for OPI

Nicole for OPI

Nicole for OPI

Nicole for OPI

Nicole for OPI

Nicole for OPI

I love these unique shades! Included were the following, all from Nicole for OPI:

1) A Phil’s Paradise – a shimmery gunmetal silver/pewter

2) Brilliant Idea – a sparkle coat with various sizes of golden olivey green glitters (favourite so far without testing yet!)

3) My Jay or the Highway – a cream formula putty shade taupe

4) Totally in the Dark – a deep dark midnight blue with matching blue sparkles, some silver too I think. I didn’t realize it at the time, but looking at it now, this is a potential Essie Starry Starry Night dupe…. for all of $2.50….wow.

I cannot wait to try these out! My weird greyed out sage green Earth Day polish selection from a couple days ago (Revlon Colorstay Spanish Moss) is still holding up well, so I probably won’t get to try one out til tomorrow. I will probably do a swatch, review and check for dupe info one by one as I try them out.

If you have a Shopper’s Drug Mart nearby, check it out! I found this in Richmond, but it looks like it might be at other Shoppers as well! Find yourself some goodies all while being charitable! I must admit this fun little find changed my day for the better!

Enjoy your weekend!

Nicole for OPI Goodie Bag SDM, Tickets, Coupon

Nicole for OPI Goodie Bag SDM, Tickets, Coupon

Leave a Reply

