Maybelline Color Tattoo Metal Barely Branded Swatch & Review!

Maybelline Barely Branded

Maybelline Barely Branded

I may seem a bit belated by reviewing this one a year or so after everyone else, but it actually took me this long to get my hands on it! I have a small collection of Maybelline’s other Color Tattoo offerings, but Barely Branded was always sold out and impossible to find in my small town. Glad to finally have it to wear and review today, it’s about time!

Maybelline Barely Branded Sunlight

Maybelline Barely Branded Sunlight

The verbosely named Maybelline Color Tattoo Metal By Eyestudio 24 hour Eyeshadow in 70 Barely Branded is a cream style shadow in a sturdy, higher end feeling glass jar. The shade is clearly labeled on the lid, and easy to see through the bottom of the glass jar making your desired shade easy to find no matter which way you store it.

Maybelline Barely Branded Shade

Maybelline Barely Branded Shade

The formula is a smooth, soft, cream, and easy to apply with either fingers or a synthetic brush. Barely Branded is a warm leaning cream/beige shade, with tiny flecks of golden micro glitter and blends into my NC20/25 skin nicely. I could see this looking too frosty for every day on very dark skin tones, but it might blend in beautifully on yellower skin tones. It sets within a couple of minutes, allowing you to sheerly blend it out however much you like, and once its set, it is SET.  On my oily eyelids it is on for the whole day, however it does wash off with my regular facial wash at the end of the day. If you wanted to use this as a base for a powder eyeshadow, you will want to work fast while this product is still tacky.

Maybelline Barely Branded Swatch

Maybelline Barely Branded Swatch

I have included a super close up of my eye with Barely Branded on to show that it doesn’t look too frosty once applied and that it blends out well. Maybelline Barely Branded is applied by finger on the lid and inner corner, with a bit of Tough as Taupe from the same line lightly buffed into the crease. Although a synthetic brush is generally better for cream products, I find that a natural fiber eye shadow brush picks up just the right amount of Tough as Taupe and blends it out far more smoothly for crease shading, so I make the exception when I am using that one in the crease. Also applied is Maybelline cream eyeliner in brown and Cover Girl Professional Mascara, waterproof, also in brown (another old favourite – starting using that over 20 years ago!). I would use this super fast and easy eye look with one of my brighter, redder, or darker lip shades.

Maybelline Barely Branded on eye

Maybelline Barely Branded on eye

I love these cream eye shadows by Maybelline. The only one I have slight issue with is the Bold Gold, which looks a bit too flaky on my lid. I have also read about others complaining of these drying up. I’ve had most of mine since they came out and although drier, they can still be applied. This might have something to do with me living in a more humid area.

Maybelline Color Tattoo cream eye shadows are available in drugstores and grocery stores in Canada. I found mine for $6.99 however they are usually priced around $10.99. They are made in the US and contain 0.14oz, or 4g. So glad to finally have this one, I’m going to get a lot of use out of it!

Leave a Reply

