Almay Bold Nudes for Greens Swatch and Review!

Almay Bold Nudes for Greens

Almay Bold Nudes for Greens

It’s been a busy couple of days! On one of my stops this weekend I happened upon this offering from Almay that I had my eye on for a while. I love golden olive type greens almost as much as I love my purples, and when I saw I could grab the lengthily named Almay intense i-color bold nudes powder shadow trio for greens (414) for all of $2.99 I couldn’t pass it up! As you can see by the packaging, the palette is intended for those with green eyes, but as always I went ahead and ignored that. I’m not sure how they consider the green shade as “nude”, the same dilemma I had with the Almay bold nudes for browns (the purple palette I reviewed here) so I thought it might be wise to ignore that part too!

The back of the package had a little diagram showing how they expect you to apply it. This same diagram and set of instructions is found on the back of the palette itself.

almay_nudes_greens_back

As mentioned in a previous review, I like the little line of eyelashes on the outside of the plastic lid! The eye shadow itself is arranged in how you’re intended to apply it on your eye. Nice and tidy, sturdy packaging.

Almay Bold Nudes for Greens

Almay Bold Nudes for Greens

 

The palette itself in indoor lighting, and in bright sun light.

Almay Bold Nudes for Greens

Almay Bold Nudes for Greens

Almay Bold Nudes for Greens

Almay Bold Nudes for Greens

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The formula was silky soft to the touch, buttery but not too soft that it kicks up a bunch of powder when you go to apply. The highlighter shade is a creamy, opalescent pink leaning nude. I normally don’t like these shades as they usually look too frosty on me, but this blended into my skin so well I could use it as a luminizer. It didn’t look like a colour itself, it looked my it was my skin, only shiny. Also worth noting, this pale shade was hard to photograph in the sun as it reflecting off the light so much my camera couldn’t pick it up! The brown shade isn’t too warm that I can’t wear it and has just enough pigment to blend out smoothly as a crease shade.  The green shade is a lovely mossy olivey tone. Each one of these shades were so velvety to the touch while I was swatching with my fingers, I was a bit surprised the texture was this nice. All of the shades also had a golden shimmery touch to them, but no outright glitter. Shown here in sunlight and in indoor lighting.

Almay Bold Nudes for Greens Swatch Sunlight

Almay Bold Nudes for Greens Swatch Sunlight

Almay Bold Nudes for Greens Indoor Light

Almay Bold Nudes for Greens Indoor Light

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Application was creamy, smooth and blended out well. I applied them mostly as shown on their label with the exception of less highlighter on the brow as I think it looks dated. I did use it in my inner corner. Also used was a few coats of Smashbox Eye Brightening Mascara reviewed here and my treasured MAC Powersurge Eye Kohl reviewed here. The green portion seems a bit brighter in the pictures, more lime like. It is definitely more mossy/olivey in person. In shade, the colours did look very neutral, something I also noticed with the Almay purple palette. These wore on my skin very comfortably and held up well to my oily lids.

Almay Bold Nudes for Greens

Almay Bold Nudes for Greens

Almay Bold Nudes for Greens

Almay Bold Nudes for Greens

 

Overall I quite like this palette, especially for the bargain I found it at! For a different green eye shadow look I did recently, check out my Irish Eyes look I did for St Patrick’s Day!

 

Leave a Reply

