Revlon ColorStay in Bold Sangria, Swatches & Dupe Info!

Revlon Bold Sangria

Revlon Bold Sangria

Far and away my favourite nail polish formula is Revlon’s ColorStay Longwear Nail Enamel, in it’s current and even former incarnations. Been waiting for a sale (half price woohoo!) to finally grab the one I am reviewing today, Revlon Bold Sangria! I’ve gone on before about how I prefer my nail colours to be of the deeper, darker, moody and broody variety and this one manages to be all these things while remaining elegant and feminine.

 

Revlon Bold Sangria is a deep, dark purpley plum. I love this contrast against my pale skin (NC20/25 for reference). The formula is smooth, takes 2 coats for an even finish, and didn’t seem to take too long to dry to me. The brush is of the wider, flatter variety which I do prefer for my nails. The bottle is the standard simple, utilitarian and tidy round bottle and brush handle.

Here it is on my nails in shade from sun!

Revlon Bold Sangria Swatch

Revlon Bold Sangria Swatch

And in indoor lighting under flash!

Revlon Bold Sangria

Revlon Bold Sangria

 

Now when I looked up this product, I was made aware that Revlon Bold Sangria has been said to be a dupe for OPI Siberian Nights. I don’t have this one to compare, but online the pictures do look mighty close to me, so if you are looking for a less expensive or more available (in some areas) drugstore dupe, this one appears to make the cut. If you are looking for an even thriftier drugstore option, might I recommend NYC Color In A Minute in Battery Park Purple! I completely forgot I had this one, and want to show you how similar they are!

Revlon Bold Sangria, NYC Battery Park Purple

Revlon Bold Sangria, NYC Battery Park Purple

 

Bottles and swatches with flash below!

Revlon Bold Sangria and Battery Park Purple Swatch with Flash

Revlon Bold Sangria and NYC Battery Park Purple Swatch with Flash

 

Bottles and swatches without flash!

Revlon Bold Sangria and NYC Battery Park Purple without Flash

Revlon Bold Sangria and NYC Battery Park Purple without Flash

 

Close right? Those colours are pretty well dead on to my eye. Of course there will be a difference in formula, the NYC ones do in fact dry very quickly, which I love for a super speedy manicure that will last a day or two, but for longer lasting more reliable wear, the Colorstay is the way to go. NYC polishes retail for about $2-3 tops.

Revlon ColorStay Longwear Nail Enamel retails for around $10 Canadian, contain 0.4Oz/11.7mLs, and are big 3 free.

Revlon Bold Sangria

Revlon Bold Sangria

I love this stuff! Have a favourite purple?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: NYC Top Coats, A Trio Reviewed | katezilla

Leave a Reply

