Rimmel Airy Fairy Lasting Finish Lipstick 070

 

Rimmel Airy Fairy Lasting Finish Lipstick

Rimmel Airy Fairy Lasting Finish Lipstick

I have been hearing and reading on various beauty blogs for a while now about this lipstick from Rimmel as being wonderful for pale people who desire to wear a nude lipstick that won’t make them look even more like pasty reheated death. I prefer reds and brights to liven up my NC20/25 skin but apparently this is frowned upon for job interviews, so I had to find myself something that helped me look put together and professional. Rimmel displays are usually well picked over by the time I get to them, and I had a hard time finding this but managed to grab one for $4 at Superstore in Canada recently! At that price I couldn’t resist finding out if it was everything these lovely beauty bloggers claimed it to be!

Rimmel Airy Fairy Lasting Finish Lipstick 070

Rimmel Airy Fairy Lasting Finish Lipstick 070

Rimmel Airy Fairy Lasting Finish Lipstick Swatch

Rimmel Airy Fairy Lasting Finish Lipstick Swatch

Rimmel Airy Fairy is a mauve/pink leaning nude-ish shade. This very definitely -thankfully- leans on the cool side, making it well suited to my cool tone skin. I can see this looking horrid on skin that is really very warm, dark, or yellow based. This shade was made with pale cool toned people in mind, which is a relief as I have issue with other “holy grail nudes” being way too brown for me. It has some barely noticeable golden micro glitter which I can see in the tube, but I can’t personally see in the finished swatches on either arm or lip. Coverage is opaque after a few swipes. I wouldn’t call this a “Lasting Finish”, as it wears about the same as any lipstick that doesn’t claim to be long wearing, but at least it seems to wear off evenly. Texture is creamy, smooth and reasonably emollient. I would judge this to have a satin finish. Below is a swatch on lip, NC20/25 skin, taken in outdoor light.

Rimmel Airy Fairy Lasting Finish Lipstick On Lip

Rimmel Airy Fairy Lasting Finish Lipstick On Lip

Worth noting is the scent, which might bother some. I’ve gotten used to it as I have a few of these from Rimmel’s Lasting Finish line. It’s a sweet, slightly spicy (cinnamony?) kind of scent. It’s unique to these lipsticks, I can’t think of any other products that smell like this. If you absolutely can not stand fragrance in a facial beauty product, this may be a deal breaker for you.

 

The packaging is a dark purplish shade with red microglitter you can see in the sun, has an angled top with the Rimmel crown logo on it, a metal ring around the middle with the Rimmel text logo, and a metal tube inside holding the product. The lipstick does wind all the way down inside the tube so protect the product from knicks and bumping, which I appreciate. You can see the label sticker matches the shade of the lipstick inside, handy!

 

Rimmel Airy Fairy Lasting Finish Lipstick 070

Rimmel Airy Fairy Lasting Finish Lipstick 070

 

Overall I do like this lipstick and think it’s a fantastic deal at $4! I wouldn’t call it fancy, luxurious or dramatic but it’s a perfect “safe” shade for job interviews! If you’re of cool toned pale skin and can find it on sale I encourage you to check it out! I will be using this as my “nude” shade until I find something more magical than Airy Fairy (unlikely) or they stop making it. Apparently Rimmel Airy Fairy is a dupe for various MAC lipsticks such as High Tea, Angel, Hug Me or Creme Cup (and more…) depending on who you ask. I don’t have any of these so I can’t substantiate 😦

 

What’s your nude lipstick you can’t live without?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. trendyteacher13
    Apr 06, 2014 @ 17:01:16

    I am so pale and pasty too! Thanks for the recommendation of a good nude. It looks great!

    Like

    Reply

  2. V
    Apr 07, 2014 @ 06:50:31

    Very pretty! I wouldn’t have expected it would even be a nude looking at it in the tube, but on your lips it definitely is.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

