Maybelline Volum’ Express Mega Plush Mascara Review

Maybelline Mega Plush Volum' Express Mascara

Maybelline Mega Plush Volum’ Express Mascara

I have been hunting a daily use, dependable through any situation holy grail mascara (in drugstore price range) for a while now, since my beloved Maybelline Full N’ Soft Waterproof is now impossible to find (discontinued, as far as I can tell). I snap up whatever stragglers are left of that mascara I find, in any colour they have on the rare occasion I do see it, that’s how much I love it. Very grateful to have a couple of them stashed away!

One of my favourite attributes of the Full N’ Soft was that it did remain soft and flexible to the touch after it dried, even after several coats. It felt wonderfully comfortable and nothing else I have tried felt the same. After describing this to my mother, she recommended I should try this Maybelline Volum’ Express Mega Plush Mascara saying it had the same soft, non crispy crunchy feel when dry.

 

I’ve given this mascara a thorough testing now and have determined it’s not bad! Not quite as good as my Full N’ Soft but the closest in texture I’ve tried yet. I have the shade “Very Black”. The colour is decent, a deep velvety matte black that doesn’t go greyish or muted as some tend to do. The formula dries quickly, build well, if not a little bit spidery. I gave this mascara a tough test on a day where I did some rather industrious cooking and cleaning, and no flakes nor smudges! I was impressed, especially considering this formula isn’t waterproof. Shown is my eye with Maybelline the Mega Plush Volum’ Express on my lashes, no eye shadow or liner so you can see how it performs on it’s own.

Maybelline Mega Plush Volum' Express Mascara on Eye

Maybelline Mega Plush Volum’ Express Mascara on Eye

About the brush: it is an oversized bushy brush on a bendy, flexible wand. I’m undecided about it. It does deliver product evenly and effectively, so no problems there, however it really is a huge brush. That might work well for some eye shapes, however mine are a bit deeper set, making application more susceptible to smudging and smearing. I have to be extra careful to make sure this doesn’t happen. This large brush does hold enough product to do all my lashes with one go, top and bottom and then again over the top, without dipping back into the tube, which I suppose is a nice time saving feature on a rushed morning, or for someone who doesn’t wish to fuss about. Shown here is the brush with a measuring tape so you get an idea how large it really is.

Maybelline Mega Plush Volum' Express Mascara Brush

Maybelline Mega Plush Volum’ Express Mascara Brush

Wondering about the value of the flexible brush. I can see how it might be handy to scrape out the last bits of mascara from the sides of the tube. The large, oversized brush on a flexible wand might become even more unwieldy however. It’s tricky enough to maneuver a huge brush without the added difficulty of it bending, flexing and smooshing as you apply, making it a potentially messier application. Below is a picture demonstrating the flexible brush.

Maybelline Mega Plush Volum' Express Mascara Bursh, Bent

Maybelline Mega Plush Volum’ Express Mascara Bursh, Bent

Is it life changing? No of course not, it’s a mascara. However if you are looking for a mascara that is still soft and flexible when dry, with minimal flaking, that washes off easily with your regular facial wash and water in the drugstore price range, this is worth checking out! For a review on some higher end mascaras, please check out my mascara sampler review here!

Maybelline Mega Plush Volum' Express Mascara

Maybelline Mega Plush Volum’ Express Mascara

Leave a Reply

