Juicy Couture – Viva La Juicy La Fleur EDT Review!

JCLFAdmittedly, I am not really in Juicy’s target market. Shopper’s Drug Mart here in Canada has these sample sets, and inside it is a gift certificate for the full size of the fragrance you choose. My Juicy Couture La Fleur sample was in Shopper’s sample offering from xmas 2013 (Shopper’s Drug Mart Fragrance Sampler and Gift Certificate for Her). Also included in the box was a sample for Ralph Lauren’s Big Pony 2 which I thought for sure I was going to go for…so surprised I didn’t!

The notes for Viva La Juicy La Fleur are listed on Fragrantica as Mandarin Orange, Red Berries, Water Lily, Jasmine, Gardenia, Honeysuckle, Vanilla, Caramel and Sandalwood. The notes are listed on Sephora as Wild Berries, Mandarin, Honeysuckle, Gardenia Petals, Soft Jasmine, Vanilla, Caramel, Sandalwood, which seems to be missing the water lily. For what it’s worth, I can’t smell any water lily.

Juicy Couture Viva La Juicy La Fleur Bottle Front

Juicy Couture Viva La Juicy La Fleur Bottle Front

I think the fact that I was not at all familiar with any of Juicy Couture’s other offerings worked to this perfumes benefit. I gave all the samples a fair shake by leaving them on for their full duration. This one struck me as odd at first, I thought I smelled something that I can only describe as light green and vegetal. But the longer it was on, the more I was hooked. Out of all the samples in that box, this was the only one that kept me coming back for more. Reading over the notes, I’m not surprised how much I ended up liking it, as I love orange, honeysuckle, vanilla, caramel. More recently, in part to this fragrance, I have developed an appreciation for gardenia as well. Gardenia can easily be overpowering, but in this one there is a soft touch of it, somewhere in the middle of the fragrance which gives it a more sophisticated feel. The mandarin at the top is, well, juicy, fresh, light and inviting. The caramel and vanilla at the bottom provides a nice base along with the sandalwood which keeps it from getting too sweet. The jasmine in the middle might induce headaches in some. I wouldn’t consider this to be a super serious fragrance, but it is fun, light, flirty, pretty and suitable for most daytime things (scent free offices aside) and I think it would be lightly seductive selection to wear on a date. Suitable for spring and summer for sure, I would wear it through the winter as well (and I have been!) but deep warm fragrance lovers might not find this bracing enough for chillier weather.

Juicy Couture Viva La Juicy Bottle Back

Juicy Couture Viva La Juicy Bottle Back

Sephora’s site describes this as sheer, modern and addictive, and I would agree, especially about the addictive part. I have never tried a fragrance that hooked me like this one. Despite being built similarly to other fruity florals, this one was unique enough to grab my attention and hold it, unlike so many others. Perhaps I am fortunate in that it agrees strongly with my body chemistry. This fragrance lasts a around 4-5 hours on me if I apply an unscented lotion as a base for it to “stick to”. I use this method for all my lighter fruity florals or else they just vanish on me in a few hours. As Viva La Juicy La Fleur is just an EDT, it could use the extra lasting power. I have since has the chance to test the regular Viva La Juicy, and I don’t find them to be that similar. Regular Viva La Juicy is very strong on the caramel note and the florals got lost to the point of complete evaporation on me. The La Fleur is a nice compromise between a light strong floral and a delectable, crave worthy gourmand.

Juicy Couture Viva La Juicy Ribbon Removed

Juicy Couture Viva La Juicy Ribbon Removed

You might have noticed I removed the ribbon from the top of the bottle in my pictures. I should probably explain this in case someone is wondering. This little decorative embellishment embodies several things that are pet peeves for me… hot barbie pink (too too girly), fake trashy gold, gaudy brand name flaunting, and, well, I hate bows. If I find them on clothing, handbags, socks, bras, undies, whatever, they get sliced off asap. I’m not sure why I kept it but I found it in in a drawer and thought to include it. There was also a gold plated safety pin thing which is long gone, don’t miss it. I find the bottle looks cleaner and far more attractive and sophisticated without it.

The gift certificate I had was good for a 1.3oz/40 ml bottle as shown. As it is a little pricey otherwise, grab a sample and try it a few days first!

Juicy Couture Viva La Juicy

Juicy Couture Viva La Juicy

Leave a Reply

