Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips Test & Review!

Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips

I always wanted to try these nail stickers, from this brand or any other, and was really happy when I found these Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips as a 2 sticker sample in a magazine. I thought it was a great idea! They are a bit costly to buy if you have no idea what you’re doing with them (like myself) and was grateful to give these a try for free! It looks like Sally Hansen has a couple dozen designs to choose from!

Sally Hansen Nail Strips Sample

http://www.sallyhansen.com/nails/nail-color/stickers/salon-effects-real-nail-polish-strips

The sample came with 2 stickers, one of which I thought would fit my ring finger fairly well. They are a cute black and white houndstooth pattern, which is convenient as I could match that with any shade. Sally’s website says these stickers last 10 days. I figured if they stickers lasted longer than the polish, I could just remove the polish, slap on another colour and be happy with it.

As the magazine these were included with was long gone, I didn’t have the benefit of instructions. I looked some up and got started. I also didn’t have a cuticle stick, so after I peeled off the backing and placed it over my nail, I smoothed it out gently with the rounded end of a makeup brush, which seemed to do the job.

I removed excess sticker and folded the end underneath my nail tip. The end near my cuticle didn’t fit quite as well and seemed to not want to stick all the way down flat, but it they don’t peel off this way it won’t be a deal breaker.

I decided to use a long discontinued favourite Maybelline nail polish to complete the manicure called Midnight Red, which I bought to be a dupe for the cult classic Chanel Rouge Noir. The flash here washed it out a bit, it’s much darker in person. I applied a long wearing top coat to everything, including the nail strip in hopes it would help the cuticle end stick a little better. So far so good.

Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish STrips

Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips

The white shine on the right side of my ring finger is reflection off the clear coat I sloppily applied and not excess white nail sticker smear.

I’m hoping to update in a few days with the nail sticker intact and a new shade on the rest of the nail, I have high hopes for this product! Loving it so far!

Update Edit!

3 days later, and as predicted I have replaced the polish before the sticker. There’s a small chip on the sticker but its not very noticeable. I replaced the polish with NYC Color in a Minute Quick Dry Nail Polish in MoMa. The shade is a deeper purple fuschia than shows in the picture and applies like something between a jelly and a creme. Dries pretty quickly, wears reasonably well for the cost.

NYC Color in a Minute MoMa

NYC Color in a Minute MoMa

Leave a Reply

