Irish Eyes! Maybelline New York Eyeshadow Quad in Emerald Smokes Review and Swatch

Happy St Patrick’s Day!

It’s not too often I can think of a reason to wear emerald green eyeshadow and have it be completely right for the day so I grabbed this opportunity to test and review Maybelline New York’s eyeshadow quad in Emerald Smokes. I grabbed this a few months ago on clearance for $1.44!  Maybelline has changed their packaging since, which I suspect is why it was on clearance as it hasn’t been discontinued. Not sure if they have also changed the formula as well. They have more squared off packaging now as compared to the ones with tapered ends as shown below.

Maybelline Emerald Smokes

Maybelline Emerald Smokes

The quad has 4 green shades, marked 1 through 4 as follows:

1) Base – a pale shimmery golden ivory that leans just ever so slightly to green. This blends into my NC 20/25 skin fairly well but I’d imagine it might not translate well on very dark skin tones.

2) Lid – a shimmery golden olive/khaki green shade, which is always a favourite for me. I think almost anyone could make a wash of this shade work with their skin.

3) Crease – a deep shimmery forest green. This shade leans cooler than the rest of the pan and might be harder to pull off for some skin tones.

4) Liner – a deep, dark green black with gold glitter flecks.

The pigment was best with the lid and crease shades, and the base and liner shades had some fallout but nothing I couldn’t make work for me.

Emerald Smokes Outdoor Light Swatch

Emerald Smokes Outdoor Light Swatch

Emerald Smokes Indoor Light Swatch

Emerald Smokes Indoor Light Swatch

There are directions on the back on how they want you to apply them. I usually ignore them, but for the sake of giving the product a more thorough review as it is presented I went along with it. The only change I made was to not apply the “base” all over the whole lid first as I thought it would wash out and muddy the other shades. I still applied this lightly as brow highlight and in the inner corner.

Emerald Smokes on Eye, Outdoor Light

Emerald Smokes on Eye, Outdoor Light

Emerald Smokes on Eye Outdoor Light

Emerald Smokes on Eye Outdoor Light

Emerald Smokes on Eye Outdoor Light

Emerald Smokes on Eye Outdoor Light

Emerald Smokes Indoor Light

Emerald Smokes Indoor Light

The bottom picture is taken in indoor lighting for reference.

I applied these over a light base of Maybelline Fit Me foundation for both eyes and swatch, and used a couple coats of my beloved, impossible to find Maybelline Full n’ Soft mascara which I really hope isn’t discontinued. There is a small amount of MAC’s Powersurge Eye Kohl in the inner rim.

Overall these eyeshadows surprised me. I did not expect green shades to be as flattering as they were. The applied and blended out relatively well. I have had this on for a few hours while doing some things around the house, and no creasing on my oily lids yet! The swatches on my arm removed easily with a makeup remover wipe. For the price I paid, I am really impressed. If you are interested in having shades like these in your collection and find it on a deal (I would never pay the $8.99 CA they are usually) then give it a try!

Have a great St Patrick’s Day everyone!

Sláinte!!

Maybelline Emerald Smokes Indoor Light Pan

Maybelline Emerald Smokes Indoor Light Pan

Leave a Reply

