Liz Claiborne Curve Crush and a Sexy Scent Study: A Review and Hypothesis

curvecrushThis fragrance has been out since 2003, so I was confused when I received a sample of it along with a completely different fragrance purchase. I can’t even say for certain if it’s still in production. Being an adventurous fragrance lover, I’m willing to give just about anything a chance. It was from a reasonably well known name (in the 90’s anyway) and was a flanker. How bad can it be?

I popped the top, dabbed a bit on my wrist, and regretted it both intensely and immediately. I was assaulted by a cheap, fake cinnamon smell, awash in lavender soapy blahness. If you spilled the cinnamon shaker on Grandma’s third best bowl of potpourri, you might wind up with something like this.

I visited my go-to source for all fragrance info, fragrantica.com. When I first looked and wrote my review there, they did not have a listing of notes. They do now, and they are listed as such: The fragrance features citruses, floral notes, tea, milk, sugar, cinnamon, cardamom, ginger, cloves, pepper, musk and vanilla.

I have a theory about this fragrance. I could be way off, but it’s still fun. Perhaps the developers got their hands on a study done years ago regarding which scents effected sexual response in the human male. This may sound familiar, the tests are quoted frequently. These tests were done by Dr. Hirsch and colleague Dr. Jason Gruss and some results can be found here: http://www.smellandtaste.org/_/index.cfm?action=research.sexual

At the top of the heap for “Increase in Penile Blood Flow” at 40% average increase was the fragrance (or fragrance combo in this case) of pumpkin pie and lavender.

Let’s break this down. Pumpkin pie… ingredients such as cinnamon, cream, sugar, cardamom, ginger, cloves, vanilla! Combined with lavender, as it was in the study, well you’ve got you self some guaranteed “test results”.

Of course I can’t prove this fragrance was deliberately structured in this manner. But being familiar with the cited test, there were just too many parallels to ignore 😉

And we return to me struggling to appreciate this fragrance. I could not get past the artificial cinnamon, and the “old lady” air freshener florals. The lavender just didn’t work for me here. It was creamy in an unpleasant way. I understand what they were going for but it really, really wasn’t for me. I found this unusual as I love other fragrances with cinnamon, creamy, sweet vanilla notes, such as my old beloved, discontinued warm and bracing Ralph Lauren Hot, which I will review at another time. I wanted to follow through with this scent to the drydown to give it a fair shake, but it made me so sick and headachey I had to scrub it off long before getting to that point.

The bottle is a nice purple shade, and is utilitarian enough. I do think the bottle style would suit a more sporty fragrance than this one, but if I like something the bottle is never a deal breaker (I’m looking at you, SJP NYC).

If this fragrance is your thing, good news. You can find it on fragrancex.com for a thrifty $21 for 100 mls or 3.4 oz.

Oh, and my negative review haiku:

Liz Claiborne Curve Crush

Potpourri bowl refresher

Why won’t it scrub off

 

Leave a Reply

