Cover Girl Lip Perfection in Euphoria 360 and Embrace 335, Review & Swatch

EDIT: I have added a few new pictures in better lighting that I think represent these shades more accurately. You can find them at the bottom of the post. Thanks for visiting!

It’s March and its snowing. I dislike snow. We didn’t have it most of the winter and suddenly it decides to show up now, later than his welcome and with a snotty attitude, like a guy who shows up with their rowdy friends after the bar’s already done last call and everyone’s packing up to leave and move on to spring. Go home, late winter. You’re drunk.

As a tiny silver lining in this deviant snow cloud, I will use the extended cold and snow as an excuse to continue enjoying the deeper berry toned lip shades I picked up for this winter. I would still wear them year round on a braver, bolder day but I feel that they are easier to pull off this time of year.

I like my berry tones to lean a bit on the purple side, as I have a cooler skin tone. This winter I picked up a couple from Cover Girl’s newer lipstick line, Lip Perfection: Euphoria 360 and Embrace 335. They average about $8-10 CA in drugsrores.

Cover Girl Lip Perfection, Embrace, Euphoria

Cover Girl Lip Perfection, Embrace, Euphoria

I really like the packaging. They are square and stack and store well. The tube is a bronzed purpley colour and seems sturdy enough to last the life of the lipstick. My favourite part is the bottom! It clearly lists the name and number of the shade with a perfect match of the lipstick colour covering the bottom centimeter or so, so you can see what you’re grabbing right away without having to dig around, providing you store them that end up of course.

endtube3

 

I notice a few brands have been doing this with their lipstick packaging (Nyx and Sephora  come to mind) and I think it’s a small but ingenious detail. With the colour easy to see  and grab, it means you reach for it more often, thereby using it up faster, and  subsequently rebuying more of the same. And that’s just good business. Nice to see  these companies have some good people in their product development and marketing.  Keep it up!

I had some troubles getting the shades to come up true on camera, I’ll go ahead and blame the lighting on this grey dreary day. I’ll try to grab better shots when we finally get some sun!

Cover Girl Lip Perfection, Embrace top, Euphoria bottom With Flash

Cover Girl Lip Perfection, Embrace top, Euphoria bottom With Flash

Cover Girl Lip Perfection, Embrace top, Euphoria bottom, Without Flash

Cover Girl Lip Perfection, Embrace top, Euphoria bottom, Without Flash

Embrace: looks very blue based purple in the tube, and can build to almost the same intensity on the lips. I prefer to apply with a lighter hand, leaving a brightened reddish purple berry tone. Application is slightly drier than Euphoria but still smooth. Noted as a dupe for Mac Violetta.

Euphoria: looks like a deep purpley red in tube and applies to a rich, deep wine red tone. Still a blue based berry red. Applied lightly, it shows as a more subtle rosier berry shade. Application is smooth and moisturizing.

These lipsticks last about a well as any other, and Embrace in particular *stains*. It doesn’t stay its deep, vibrant purple, however. It fades down to a bright, vivid hot pink fuchsia shade. Below are them both applied lightly for a more sheer shade.

cvrgrlstain

These lipsticks have a soft, sweet vanilla type scent, although you can still smell the typical lipstick smell underneath. If you hate fragrance or vanilla, that could be a deal breaker but I like it.

I’ve just been reminded that it’s Oscar night. Not really my thing, but if it’s yours, wear your deepest, classiest berry lip for the show! Me, I just look forward to the makeup blogs of what the stars are wearing! 🙂

Cover Girl Euphoria & Embrace

Cover Girl Euphoria & Embrace

Cover Girl Euphoria & Embrace

Cover Girl Euphoria & Embrace

Cover Girl Euphoria & Embrace Swatch

Cover Girl Euphoria & Embrace Swatch

Leave a Reply

